Gilmore Girls is by far my favorite TV show. The main reason for this is because I’ve watched it for as long as I can remember. I LITERALLY grew up watching this show. The other huge reason is because I AM Rory Gilmore, and my mom IS Lorelai Gilmore. If you’ve met us, you can tell. The coffee addiction, the quirky responses, even the pop culture references. The reason we are most like the Gilmore Girls, though, is how close we are.

As most people may have noticed, I’m not your average teen (if there even is such a concept). So far I haven’t had a ‘rebellious teenager’ phase and I’m not planning to.

As Rory said to Lorelai on her first day of college, ” I should hate you right now, not miss you! Do something to make me hate you!” I love this about their relationship. Yes, they have their fights, but they always make it back to their forever friendship.

My mom and I are BEST FRIENDS, and I owe a lot of that to this show. Gilmore
Girls taught me how to better understand my mom. It taught me that best friends can overcome anything. (Yes, I know that sounds cheesy.) Not just Lorelai and Rory, though. Sookie and Lorelai have had their challenges, and so have Rory and Lane. Yet, at the end of the series, they all are still best friends, maybe even with a stronger relationship than before.

Relationships are hard. Gilmore Girls shows that. Who remembers the episode where Lorelai and Rory go on a road trip and wind up at a Bed and Breakfast (The Cheshire Cat)? This episode was a large avoidance of a huge question. However, Rory went along with Lorelai’s strange coping mechanism for a while. When Rory finally asks Lorelai about deeper stuff than lip gloss and roadside nut stands, though, Lorelai shuts her down. I understand not being able to talk about something still so fresh in your mind, but I also know that at some point, communication is necessary. This I learned from Gilmore Girls. With each challenge they came up against, Rory and Lorelai knew that they had to talk to each other so they could put these obstacles behind them.

Gilmore Girls is one of those shows that you can watch hundreds of times and find something new each time. This is how it is for me (Pretty literally). I don’t think I had realized how much I have actually learned from Gilmore Girls, until I sat down to write this. These animated yet incredibly lifelike characters have shown me that my mom and I can be best friends too.

As I’m reaching the end of this blog post, I have just a few more things to say.

To my mom: As Rory Gilmore said in her high school graduation speech, “My mother never gave me any idea that I couldn’t do whatever I wanted to do or be whomever I wanted to be… Thank you Mom. You are my guidepost for everything.” I love you more than you know.

Now, not all mothers are as eccentric as Lorelai, but all are as incredible. Consumed with their thoughts, worries, and duties as a parent, a mother might forget how much they mean to someone. Give your mom a hug today and tell her how amazing she is. Whether it’s a vase of flowers, a clean kitchen, or a simple “I love you, mom,” the difference a small action can make is a large one.

Gilmore Girls may be just a TV show, but it has seriously affected my relationship with my mom and taught me several things in the process. And so, in closing, there is one only one more thing to say:

“Oy, with the poodles already!”

